Lago Mio: Lugano residency, 2019


In March, Lago Mio was inaugurated by artist Johannes Willi. In July the first artist residency in the old town of Lugano opened its doors to the next guests. After extensive discussions of the 112 applications, the Jury (Elise Lammer/Lausanne, Giovanna Silva/Milano, Benedikt Wyss/Basel) decided to invite three filmmaking artists: London-based Nigerian artist Chika Anadu, Swiss artist Tobias Madison, who currently lives in New York, and EU-based, American-born artist Zayne Armstrong. We chose three artists who will hopefully enrich each other through their practices in socially-engaged filmmaking. The resulting exhibition will take place on 25 October 2019.

Nigerian-born London-based filmmaker Chika Anadu (*1980) attended school in Lagos, Nigeria before going to the UK in 1997, where she obtained a BA in Law and Criminology and a Master's in Human and Sustainable Development. In 2010 Chika began working on her feature film debut ‘B for Boy’ at the Cannes Film Festival Cinéfondation Residency in Paris. 'B for Boy' has screened at more than 30 international film festivals worldwide. Chika Anadu is currently developing her second feature 'Girl' as a director on iFeatures – the British feature film development programme managed by the BFI, BBC Films, and Creative England.

Zayne Armstrong (*1985) was born in LA in 1986, has a US and a British passport, lives in Berlin, and has a Master's degree in Fine Arts from the Piet Zwart Institute of the Willem de Kooning Academie in Rotterdam. Zayne is currently developing a film with the working title Grounded, that starts with research on belief-based pedagogy, specifically Rudolf Steiner's Waldorf School model and its dissemination; to confront a theme that has been repeatedly emerging in his filmmaking practices practices and research into pedagogy and the ethics of consent to observe.

Basel-born New York-based artist Tobias Madison (*1985) completed his photography studies while co-organizing the New Jerseyy project space in Basel and the AP News cinema and music space in Zurich (until 2014). More recently, Tobias Madison created a remake of a 1970s film about a children's revolution (Das Blut, im Fruchtschfleisch Gerinnend beim Birnenbiss, Kestnergesellschaft Hannover, 2016) and a re-enactment of a play by Japanese playwright Shuji Terayama (Rotting Wood: The Dripping Word, MoMA PS1, 2016). Lately he worked on the film O Vermelho do Meio-Dia with the queer performance collective MEXA in São Paulo (Biennale d'Image en Mouvement in Geneva, 2018).

07. September 2019

On 21 September 2019, the time has come again. The 4th edition of the Basel Draisine Derby takes place – again on a Saturday, reunited with the Oslo Night art festival, in cooperation with the Christoph Merian Stiftung and Offcut …mehr

13. August 2019

Tischhosts gesucht! Unser Social Muscle Club ist am 17. August zu Gast am Zürcher Theater Spektakel. Gemeinsam mit dem Speki feiern wir den 40. Geburtstag des Festivals – mit dem wohl grössten SMC aller Zeiten. Dafür suchen wir noch …mehr

09. August 2019

We would like to thank you very much for your support. You, 47 people, support the residency with 7'500 Swiss francs - and thus make an important contribution to the living costs of our guest artists, the creation of the final exhibition an …mehr


Lago Mio Lugano
Artist residency / Residenza d'artista
Via Cattedrale 15
6900 Lugano
facebook / instagram

Residency July-September 2019
Exhibition 25 October 2019

Founded by Carlotta Zarattini and Benedikt Wyss
Committee: Johannes Willi (chairman), Giulia Brivio, Samuel Leuenberger, Alice Nicotra, Claudia Scholz, Philip Selzer, Claudio Vogt, Carlotta Zarattini. Jury: Elise Lammer, Giovanna Silva, Benedikt Wyss (curator)

Lago Mio is kindly supported by Città di Lugano and crowdfunding: Grazie C. Fasolo, A. Pipitone, L. Gysi, G. Zarattini, A. Grassi, N. Castelli, I. Ferrari, M. Nicol, R. Zanardini Rolla, G. Loretan, and V. Genneri, T. Keller, A. Lyn, C.Camaggi, D. Agostini, L. Lichtenstern, P. Martinet, B. Labouret, M. Moro, H. & R. Peter, O. Rossel, L. Degani, R. Pezzoli, B. Bolfo, C. Scholz, E. Brunati, U. Jeker, E. Lichtenstern, E. Mattei, D. Cattaneo, C. Rossi, N. Costa, C. Fantin Gatti, C. Schön, N. Emery, L. Rusconi,  C. Lucchetta, F. Felder, G. Bernegger, F. Pinto, E. Bianchi, B. Neff, M. Riom Créatrice.